top of page

An Introvert’s Guide to Personal Branding

I used to struggle while talking about my accomplishment. I am always striving for more. So my goals and my hard work to achieve them never felt enough. (Also, brilliant work before hard work is a scam!)


When I first started working as a freelancer, I needed to learn how to sell better to get paid for my skills and time, and personal branding was one area where I needed to improve.


” It is essential?” I thought. “Can I just do outbound marketing/reach out and send cold emails?”

I realized my drunk uncle had come back. That's what I call my limited belief: my drunk uncle. Because in my childhood or even in some part of adolescence, I used to believe everything he said.


Later, I realized he was drunk, and not everything he says is right. I realized that I am limitless, like the universe. The drunk uncle or an old allegory about a baby elephant tied to a fence; helped me understand my limited beliefs better.


I tried to rephrase that thought. And it worked. Well, it evolves!




There is a chance that we might never get rid of our limited beliefs, but we can work on them. And continue to work on it until the voice becomes less significant.


So, when it came to applying "Personal Branding," I did the same thing I had to do with my old clothes: I listed the pros and cons. And here is what I found:


  1. Personal branding is not just about you. It is about people who are struggling and looking for a solution. And you are willing to offer that!

  2. It would help you connect with your ideal client better.

  3. It would help you network better. And more than 90% of people trust recommendations from individuals. We love to work with the people we know! (source:enterpeurs.com)

  4. Even as a business, when you spread the word that you offer solutions to their pain points, you put yourself as an authority. That confidence in your skills/services is attractive.

  5. It will keep you in a winning mindset and give you the power to choose the client YOU want to work with!


So, missing out on personal branding is not an option.


Of all the myths I've learned about introverts, the most laughable was, “Introverts suck at networking!”


What? No, we don’t.


Sure, we feel it's stupid to talk in the meeting when you don’t have any point and want to showcase your authority while wasting everyone's time.


And yes, we feel parties should be best done with Netflix and bed. And sure, we think our dog is our best friend.


But, but, but. We are excellent at connecting with people one on one.


So, this quarter I am telling my drunk uncle how easy it is to talk to a stranger and connect with them.


What is your drunk uncle telling you right now, and why is it insignificant?

4 views0 comments
bottom of page